Author Topic: Safeway (Hilo) still tops in customer service  (Read 4706 times)

Kerry

• Administrator
Safeway (Hilo) still tops in customer service
« on: December 15, 2006, 05:02:12 PM »
Safeway (Hilo) still tops in customer service

I think most will agree that Safeway Hilo continues to exemplify customer service. It's almost impossible to shop without being spoken to pleasantly. Most walk me to the product rather than point to the aisle.

Kerry

• Administrator
Re: Safeway still tops in customer service
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2009, 02:23:58 PM »
11/21/09 (update)

I've lived on the Big Isle for 21 years and I've been a communication skills coach-consultant here in Hawaii for 32 years (see about us) so it's natural for me to notice the way clerks treat us customers here in East Hawaiii.

For example: One can help but notice the different experience between shopping at Foodland (mainland owned and trained) and KTA (locally owned and trained). It's virtaully impossible to leave Safeway without having been made to feel welcome and valued.

What's fascinating is that we know that the content of all management training programs, employee motivation classes, and customer relationship training programs is virtually the same. We know that the employees of both companies have been told, "Be pleasant," "Make customers feel welcome," etc., yet, only one company's leadership seems to have caused communication to take place. The assumption being that when communication takes place it produces the desired result.

I believe it has to do with the communication skills of Foodland's in house trainers.